Skip to content

Why not mess with the Olypmic fail of Bulgaria?

August 14, 2012

Not that I haven’t been surprised by the weird understatements about Bulgaria in movies or what so ever before. Oh, believe me, I always get shocked by the random implications that are usually not true. Well, I don’t know much about the firearm trade policies of the country or the quality of the Bulgarian tiles (which is actually highly evaluated by foreign companies) but there is one thing that I am absolutely sure of.. What Fluke Europe tried to say (they actually said it in a clear way) really hurts! See what I am talking about:

After the Olympic fail Bulgaria went through in  London 2012, this ad is a bit too much. I am not going to make any other comments on the topic because I am disappointed as well. However, I will make the most of this post and I will say that I (and I hope all of us out here) am proud of  our silver medallist – Stanka Zlateva; our bronze medallist – Tervel Pulev; the volleyball team; Ivet Lalova; Dancho Todorov; Maria Grozdeva and all the other athletes that gave their best.

I am also proud of the bronze medallist Valentin Hristov who’s unfortunatelly competing for Azerbaijan. However, this seems to be one helluva good recipe for winning medals. Let’s hope that next time we’ll be able to see more Bulgarians winning medals for Bulgaria! Not that you can blame those who have made their decisions for better future abroad. Even I did!

Well, at least we will remember the London 2012 Olympics with the epic comments of the Bulgarian speakers. Check them out HERE or HERE!
3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2012 20:05

    Honestly this ad is failing at every level – tasteless humor, lack of good directing, bad copy and overall feel. It strikes me as a huge surprise that this is coming from an agency as renowned as TBWA. /national pride aside.

    • August 15, 2012 09:16

      I believe that they will have some serious issues with messing up with national identities, etc. I guess we are taking it too seriously when the ad is just trying to get people laughing. I get the commercials from the whole campaign.. If they were advertising some other product they would probably be really successful.

  2. August 15, 2012 09:22

    I also believe that most people have found another focus – not the one that I meant to underline in the post. Even I do now!

    Perhaps I should have just sticked to the basics – the Olympic fail and the good job the few athletes did on the Olympics (they were FEW like for real). The commercial was the occasion – not the reason.. and I wanted to use it to underline the Olympic fail not the (obviously) unsuccessful approach the company has used in this campaign.

Tell me about it..

