Skip to content

One of the best albums ever released:

March 18, 2012

If there is one band that I associate with my childhood (except Metallica) and I still adore (now you see why Metallica is not a good example), it certainly is 4 Non Blondes. I believe that the songs from “Bigger, Better, Faster, More!” (which I consider to be one of the best albums on this planet ever released) are simply saved on the memory of my brain, somewhere they can’t be deleted! In other words – even amnesia can’t affect/erase them!!!

Yes, I really had plenty of tape casettes with unbelievable bands (which later turned into a huge CD collection) but just few of them stood out: Metallica’s Black Album (…), Depeche Mode’s “Violator” (now, I prefer “Exciter”) and Red Hot’s “Californication” (that one was literally ripped off because of too much listening). However, the cover that still makes me excited when I see it, is the one of  “Bigger, Better, Faster, More!”. 

I am not a reviewing person, even though I have to be . Yet, in my support I should say that there is not much to tell about 4 Non Blonds’s album anyway. It is just simply perfect.

But lets say that this post is a review, in which I claim that the album is indeed perfect.. Now, I have to add a part with things about the band. Well, I can only express my regrets that 4 Non Blondes do not exist since 1995, as Linda Perry (the vocal you also know for her crazy hat) decided to seek for a solo career.

Actually, “Bigger, Better, Faster, More!” was the only studio album they had but they did better than most of the bands that ever released anything at all. 6 out of 11 songs  turned out to be singles since the album’s release in 1992, which was sold out in more than 6 mil. copies.

Most of the people who tried to start a band or had friends musicians would know 4 Non Blondes for their top single – “What’s Up”. I don’t believe that many of them were looking deeper (yep, it’s for non blonds after all) into all the anti-political messages that the band spread. However, this doesn’t change the fact the the group has brought one of the biggest revolutinary songs in the alternative rock.

And here I go! This is the moment when I should say what’s my favourite song. Honestly, this is something impossible to define. What I can do.. It’s to share with you the song that was on my last.fm favourite list the longest:

Baby, don’t you know that’s the way I like it?

Well, now you do!

PS. Thank you Mummy! I will always be grateful for the music that has been colouring my life.. thanks to You.
Tell me about it..

